National Library Week

Over this past week I realized that I needed to write three, ten page papers. Now at first this overwhelmed me a little bit, but I knew that the only thing I needed to do was make a plan. The first thing that I needed to do to write my three critical essays was find my topics and sources to help me prove my argument. So where was the one place that I went to, the library.

When I walked in I realized that it was in fact National Library Week. This week had been celebrated since 1958 across the country. It was made to promote library use and support, and what I needed then to help me was some support.

The first thing I did was, sign onto a computer, but I had no idea where to go from there. I needed to find sources to help me fill out my paper but I didn’t know where to start. If the library was “supporting” this week then I might as well take advantage of that, and I did. I went and asked a librarian.

She showed that on the Framingham website there was a connect for the library itself that actually has link that can show you databases with articles to help me with my essay. Now I’m a sophomore and all this time I had no idea that it was that simple. All I had to do was ask someone for help. Then I realized that that is exactly what they are there for, to help us. We as student’s, pay to go here and we should be able to have someone help us with the entire work overload that we have to do and the people that can do that are right in the library.

This week was made specifically for us so that we can take time out of our day and not be watching TV or stuck to our iPhones but to read, learn and write more. It was made to help us concentrate on the things that are important (like for me…homework), but for people in the 1950’s a healthy and happy family, with its first theme in 1958, “Wake Up and Read!”

It seemed to me like we weren’t taking advantage of the opportunities that the library offers us, like free computer use, free book rental’s and not to mentions all of the people who work in the building for support. I am now half way done with my second critical essay but I know that I wouldn’t be this far if the Library offered me all the help and not to mention the celebration and hopefully spread of National Library Week.

Some of the events going on from April 14th– April 18th, which are free to all students, are, Monday: Ursula DeYoung and Ben Cosgrove Discuss Ursula’s novel, Shorecliff and Ben’s new album, Field Studies from 3 p.m. to 4 p.m. in the Library Café. On Tuesday a talk by Professor Andrea Gorman called, “What’s the Fuss?: Gluten-free Diets” at 2:30 p.m. in the Library Café. Wednesday, Libby Franck will portray Mary Peabody Mann, widow of Horace Mann, with, “It All Began with Books” at 3 p.m. in the Library Café. Finally on Thursday there will be three events, first from 9 a.m. there will be the judging of the Literary Cake Decorating contest and serving will be from 1 p.m. to 2 p.m. From 3 p.m. to 4 p.m. there is Book Art: Crafting with Books Workshop in the Library Café and lastly, Story Time for Child Development Lab Students.

By: Shelby Wood

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, guest blogger

Leave a Reply

